Chantal's Top 100 Bands/Artists (05)

Moderators: tdc2000, JSparksFan, FreakyFlyBry

Postby Chantal » Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:28 pm

I'd been thinking for a while that I wanted to compile a chart of my top bands/artists, so figured that joining this forum was as good a motivation as any! I considered compiling the chart based purely on how much I like the acts at this moment in time, but worried there were too many acts that I just wouldn't be able to choose between. So instead I opted for a kind of mathematical approach!

Here comes the boring maths part should you be curious as to how I compiled this chart...
Last.fm was my main tool of measurement of how much I like an act. I've been using it since January 2005 so it's a good measure of my listening habits over the past 3-4 years. It tells you your 500 most listened to artists, plus your 500 most listened to songs. First off I gave artists points based on how much I've listened to them overall - so first place got 500 points, 2nd place 499, etc etc. Then I gave artists an extra 10 points for each song of theirs that featured in my 500 most listened to songs (as it stood last night!). To then better reflect my listening habits over the years, I relied on my musical purchasing and gave artists 5 points for each CD album of theirs I own (including any duplicates I have of albums! Yes I have multiple copies of some albums), plus 1 point for any other CDs of theirs I own (singles, imports, bootlegs etc).

Overall I think this mathematical approach worked quite well and I'm pleased with the resulting chart. There are a few entries that surprised me and which would have been quite different if I'd done the chart manually (if that's the right word), but hey, it just makes it more interesting!